Fort Lauderdale Weapons Charges Defense Attorney
Florida, as do all of the 50 states, has a ban on certain types of weapons. Machine guns, silencers, and short-barreled shotguns are illegal for anyone to own unless they go through the National Firearms Act screening process conducted by the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives. However, in addition to federal laws, Florida has its own state laws that govern firearms and weapons, which differs from other state laws. These laws include:
- Improper exhibition of dangerous weapons or firearms is a serious offense in Florida. According to statute 790.10 “If any person having or carrying any dirk, sword, sword cane, firearm, electric weapon or device, or other weapon shall, in the presence of one or more persons, exhibit the same in a rude, careless, angry, or threatening manner, not in necessary self-defense, the person so offending shall be guilty of a misdemeanor of the first degree.” A first degree misdemeanor is punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of $1,000;
- Carrying a concealed weapon (not a firearm) without the proper authorization from the state results in a first degree misdemeanor;
- Carrying a concealed firearm without the proper authorization from the state (the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services) results in a third degree felony, punishable by up to five years in prison and a fine of $5,000. Statute 790.06 lists the requirements for a concealed carry permit;
- A firearm possessed by a minor without parental supervision is a serious threat to their well being. It is a second degree misdemeanor if you do not properly secure your firearm and a child under 16 handles it without your guidance. A second degree misdemeanor is punishable by up to to 60 days in jail and a $500 fine;
- Open carry of weapons, under statute 790.053 is illegal and is a second degree misdemeanor. The exceptions to this rule are if a person momentarily displays a concealed firearm in a non threatening manner, or if if the weapon that is being openly carried is used for self defense and is a chemical self defense spray or a non lethal stun or dart gun; and
- Defacing or removing a firearm’s make, model ID number, or other ID markers is a third degree felony.
Call a Fort Lauderdale Weapons Charges Criminal Defense Attorney Today
We aggressively pursue the least severe punishments for our clients that have been charged with a weapons crime. It may be that you were completely unaware of a seldom-known law, such as the defacing of a firearm. Whatever the charge brought against you, it is imperative to begin the legal work as timely as possible to build evidence for your case. If you have been charged with a weapons crime, contact Deric Zacca, P.A., an experienced Fort Lauderdale weapons charges attorney, today at 954-450-4848 for immediate help in your time of need. Deric Zacca has a long record of success in helping his clients clear their name or get off with minimal charges for their weapons crimes.