Fort Lauderdale Marijuana Defense Attorney
Currently, even though it is allowed to be sold recreationally in Colorado and Washington, marijuana is still classified as a Schedule I drug by the Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA). This designation means that the DEA finds this drug to have no medical uses and to be highly addictive. According to the DEA, schedule 1 drugs have the high potential to cause psychological and physical dependence, despite any scientific evidence supporting that claim. As such, it is illegal to grow, possess, and sell within the United States, and Florida state court penalizes those who disobey this law to the fullest extent. In fact, possessing certain amounts of marijuana is a much larger violation than driving under the influence, theft, and even some violent crimes. As stated by Florida state statute 893.13, the following are the penalties for marijuana possession and the corresponding amount (in grams):
- Possession of less than 20 grams is a first degree misdemeanor with a maximum punishment of one year in jail and a fine of $1,000;
- Possession of 20 grams to 25 pounds is a felony with a maximum punishment of five years in prison and a fine of $5,000.
If the defendant was in possession of much larger amounts of marijuana, the state can pursue even harsher penalties based on the idea that the defendant had possession with the intent to sell or distribute. Those who sell, distribute, manufacture, or otherwise are involved in marijuana “trafficking” are subject to much harsher fines and prison sentences.
- Possession of just over 25 pounds up to just under 2,000 pounds (or 25 to 300 plants) is a felony with a mandatory minimum punishment of three years in prison and maximum punishment of 15 years in prison, as well as a fine of no more than $25,000;
- Possession of 2,000 pounds up to just under than 10,000 pounds (or 300 to 2,000 plants) is a felony with a mandatory minimum punishment of seven years in prison and maximum punishment of 30 years in prison, as well as a fine of no more than $50,000;
- Possession of 10,000 pounds or more (or 2,000 to 10,000 plants) a felony with a mandatory minimum punishment of 15 years in prison and maximum punishment of 30 years in prison, as well as a fine of no more than $200,000;
Additionally, those who even give less than 20 grams away without being paid are subject to a first degree misdemeanor (maximum of one year in jail), an adult who sells to a minor is subject to a second degree felony (up to 15 years in prison), and manufacturing/storing or selling marijuana within 1,000 feet of a drug free area, such as a school, between 6:00 a.m. and 12:00 a.m. is also a second degree felony, punishable by up to 15 years in prison, no matter the quantity in possession. However, with the guidance of an experienced Fort Lauderdale marijuana defense attorney, the penalties that you are facing can be greatly reduced.
Let Us Assist You Today
Don’t face the criminal justice system without the assistance of a legal professional. If you have been charged with marijuana possession of any amount, call Fort Lauderdale marijuana defense attorney Deric Zacca immediately at 954-450-4848. We can help you throughout each step of your case.